The built-in way
In Finder settings
- In Finder, choose Finder › Settings (⌘,) and click Advanced.
- Tick "Remove items from the Trash after 30 days".
This permanently deletes files. Once they are gone from the Trash, they can’t be put back without a backup such as Time Machine.